The achievements of Rhyddings’ recent Y11 leavers were celebrated at our annual awards ceremony at the Hope Centre, Oswaldtwistle, last week. They were presented with their GCSE certificates, as well as some special awards for the highest achievers and most dedicated students.

The evening was introduced by new Chair of School Governors Bob Allonby, who praised students for the efforts which produced some of our best ever results. He also thanked their parents and families for supporting them through school and attending the awards.

Headteacher Mr Trickett told the students that they were a year of firsts and lasts. The first year to be affected by the new GCSEs and the 9-1 system, but despite this, they had coped admirably with the pressure and exceeded all expectations. They would also be the last year group he would see at an awards ceremony like this as he publicly announced that he will be retiring at the end of the academic year.

Mr Fielding, who as head of year saw the class of 2017 through the full five years, spoke of how proud he was of their successes and recounted some of the many highlights during that time.

Several students received individual awards that recognised their effort and commitment to specific subjects. Special trophies were awarded to Ameera Kerkhi for outstanding academic achievement in her GCSEs, Emily Berry for her achievement during her five years at school, Saliha Maqsood for exceptional effort, Amanda Capstick for her service to the school. Daisy Clemson and Josh Haworth were jointly awarded the ‘Mims Trophy’ for their commitment to extra-curricular activities.

After completing the Duke of Edinburgh’s Bronze Award in Year 9, Jodie Bradshaw, Amanda Capstick, Tyoni Jones, Ameera Kerkhi, Chloe Morton and Priya Patel went on to complete their Silver Awards in Year 11 and received their certificates from Business Manager and DofE co-ordinator Carmel Cunliffe.

In addition to their BTECs in Performing Arts and Music, five students sat and passed external grade 6 music exams awarded by Trinity College London. Daisy Clemson, Wade Dobson, Amara Dunstan, Josh Haworth and Tyoni Jones received their certificates from Assistant Head Iffat Ali and Bob Allonby.