Rhyddings took to the polls recently to select new student representatives for our Continent Houses.

Students from Africa, the Americas, Asia and Europe filled out detailed applications and a shortlist was drawn up. Successful candidates from each House then made a speech to the other students about why they would make the best President for their continent.

All students and staff were invited to exercise their democratic right to vote in free elections that were held during registration time.

Once the votes were counted, the winners were Demi-Leigh Jeal (Asia), Ciara Hatch (Americas), Jake McAvoy (Africa) and Tyree Walsh (Europe) who will now head up the new-look Student Parliament for the rest of the academic year.

As part of their duties, they will listen to student concerns and issues before taking them to student parliament meetings as well as representing their continent at school events throughout the year.